The Comfort of Control

I love to be comfortable.  I love knowing what will come next, where I’m supposed to be, and what I’m supposed to be doing. I love CONTROL.

Over the past few months, I’ve gotten my world rocked with the realization that God does not call us to be comfortable nor does He call us to be in control. How humbling!

Thankfully, I have had a change of heart recently in regards to control.  Now, when I think about it, is control really that comforting? Initially, I said yes. But then when I thought about it more, really started to ponder it, I changed my mind. We live in a broken, fallen world. Imagine trying to control anything in it?  Sounds like a recipe for disaster to me.

However, I am human, so in the heat of the moment, I forget to give things to God and suddenly I am grabbing at something, trying so desperately to control it. And then I fail. And then I go back to my prayer journal and reflect on what happened and come to that consensus that is so easily forgotten…God is in control. Not me.

P1030091

Example A: I’m currently looking for full time teaching positions starting in the fall. Cue CONTROL.  I fall into the trap of believing that I’m going to find the perfect school and I have to do all the things to make sure I get there.  And then I come back down to reality and realize that I need to trust God wholeheartedly and believe that whatever school He wants me at, He will clear the path and remove all obstacles. The control is completely His.  I do what I can, and let God take care of the rest. And He will.  Now THAT is comforting.

“Humble yourselves, then, under God’s mighty hand, so that he will lift you up in his own good time.  Leave all your worries with him, because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7

Humbling myself,

Lily

 

Leave a Reply

