Interior Freedom

Interior: located in the inside of something

Freedom: the state of not being imprisoned or enslaved

Interior freedom. Two words that I know and understand separately, but have never put together. Until recently. And boy…am I glad I did.  It all started with the book “Interior Freedom” by Father Jacques Philippe. I bought it months ago and it has sat on my book shelf until this past week. God put the desire on my heart to pick it up and start reading it; it never ceases to amaze me how perfect His timing is.

IMG_5087.jpg

So what is interior freedom? “Its purpose is simple.  Every Christian needs to discover that even in the most unfavorable outward circumstances we possess within ourselves a space of freedom that nobody can take away, because God is its source and guarantee.” (Interior Freedom, 9.)

How amazing is that? This freedom cannot be touched by external circumstances.  Nothing that is going on in my life can be rob me of this freedom. PRAISE GOD, because we sure do live in a messy and broken world.  I imagine this perfect little box over my heart, protecting it from anything and everything that could take away my peace and freedom.  How amazing is that? When God is the source, it cannot be touched. No matter what is going on in our lives, this interior freedom that we possess never leaves us. Even when we don’t feel it..it’s there. Because God is bigger. Always.

So this morning I am praising God for interior freedom. When I cling to Him, I am protected from the brokenness and evil that wants to rip it right out of me.

IMG_4984.jpg

Clinging to Him,

Lily

Leave a Reply

